A unique ensemble in Quebec's musical landscape, Pentaèdre explores and introduces the public to a varied and original chamber music repertoire from the great tradition of music for winds, currently made up of five talented performers whose technique and precision are unanimously acclaimed: Ariane Brisson (flute), Élise Poulin (oboe), Martin Carpentier (clarinet), Louis-Philippe Marsolais (horn) and Mathieu Lussier (bassoon).


Over the years, the ensemble has collaborated with renowned performers including tenors Christoph Prégardien and Rufus Müller, baritones Russell Braun and Phillip Addis, soprano Karina Gauvin, pianists Naida Cole, David Jalbert, Iwan Llewelyn-Jones and Charles Richard-Hamelin. Pentaèdre has also teamed up with renowned chamber music ensembles such as the Penderecki String Quartet, Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc, Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet, Quintette à vent de Marseille, Azahar Ensemble and Slowind, and has performed widely in Canada, Europe, the US and Middle East.


Pentaèdre’s fifteen recordings to date include an album around Bach’s music and heritage (2021), some transcriptions of Mozart’s string quartets dedicated to Haydn (2019), a chamber version of Schubert’s Winterreise by Normand Forget, awarded the Opus Prize in 2008, and an arrangement of Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring and Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, nominated at the ADISQ gala in 2014. To these accolades are added excellent reviews of the ensemble’s original performances L’amour est un opéra muet and A Chair in Love, as well as an Opus Prize in 2002 in the category “Concert of the Year: New, Contemporary and Electroacoustic Music.” In 2017, pursuing its commitment to developing and disseminating repertoire for wind quintet, Pentaèdre instituted the Fonds Normand Forget, whose mission is to support the creation of new works, both locally and internationally.


Ariane Brisson plays a Powell 10K flute graciously loaned by Canimex Inc. (Drummondville, Canada), property of the patron Roger Dubois.

Photo de l'ensemble